Awards and Orations


  • 1993
    John F Stokes Gold Medal for MD in Medicine, awarded for best performance by the Post graduate Institute of Medicine, Colombo
  • 2014
    Distinction in Biochemistry
  • 1995
    S E Seneviratne Award
    108th Academic Sessions of SLMA 1995, for the free paper entitled “Diabetes mellitus after renal transplantation: characteristics and risk factors” by R D Lanerolle, K de Abrew, D J S Fernando, M H R Sheriff
  • 1996
    E M Wijerama Award
    109th Academic Sessions of SLMA 1996, for the free paper entitled “ Biphasic insulin mixed by patients” by R D Lanarolle, K de Abrew, M H R Sheriff, D J S Fernando
  • 1997
    Wilson Peiris Award
    110th Academic Sessions of SLMA 1997, for the free paper entitled “ An audit of structure, process, and outcome of care of the Diabetic clinic, National Hospital Sri Lanka” by A A P T Chang, K de Abrew, D J S Fernando
  • 2000
    E M Wijerama Award
    113th Academic Sessions of SLMA 2000, for the free paper entitled “footwear and foot care: a preliminary study” by I Atukorala, B Gunetillake, K de Abrew, S Jayasinghe.
  • 2014
    Deshamanya Dr J B Peiris Award
    for the best presentation in Neurology, 47th Annual Academic Sessions at the Cinnamon Grand, Colombo; October 2014, “Impact of routine serum Carbamazepine level monitoring in pregancy on sei-zure control and medication adherence: Preliminary results of an ongoing study” by galappatthy P , Jayasekara LMDT , Perera I , Perera KDR, Damayanthi DGH, de Abrew K, Lucas N, Gunarathna P, Gamage R, Wijeyaratne CN, Wijeratne S, Weeraratne C, Abhayaratna SA, Weerasekara T, Anupama A, Aravinthahn A, Kempitiya BCTANWMRCS


  • Nullam lectus justo, condimentum at tortor ac, hendrerit hendrerit eros. Vestibulum eleifend volutpat leo sit amet rutrum. Integer finibus ipsum dapibus condimentum tincidunt. Nulla vestibulum sem eget nibh ullamcorper mattis.