Honours and Awards

  • 2016, 2015, 2012, 2010, 2005, 2001
    Presidential Research Award
  • 2011, 2013, 2014
    NRC Merit Award
  • 2016
    SUSRED Award from National Science Foundation
  • 2016
    Valentine Basnayake Oration
  • 2016
    Prof Daphne Attygale Award for Best paper for cancer research – Sri Lankan Medical Association
  • 2016
    Professor K Balasubramanium Gold Medal Lecture, Jaffna Science Society
  • 2015
    Professor Stanley Wijesundera Memorial Lecture, Institute of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • 2014
    University Research Award
  • 2010
    One of the three Best Poster Award-2010 - 14th World Congress on Gynecological Endocrinology
  • 2008
    Sir Nicholas Attygalle Oration, 2008 – awarded by Sri Lanka Medical Association
  • 2008
    Professor K N Seneviratne Oration, 2008 awarded by The Physiological Society of Sri Lanka
  • -
    Excellent Poster award at the 9th International Congress on Cell Biology and the 20th Annual conference of the Korean Society for Molecular and Cellular Biology 7th to 10th October, Seoul, Korea,
  • 2002
    SC Paul Oration, 2002 awarded by Sri Lanka Medical Association
  • 2001
    CNAPT Award for the best research paper published in 2001 awarded by Sri Lanka Medical Association
  • 2001
    University Research Award 2001 – Recipient of the Faculty of Medicine Research Award
  • 2000
    Kandy Society of Medicine Award for Health Research for Year 2000
  • 1997
    Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, Sri Lanka
  • 1995
    Sir Nicholas Attygalle Award - Sri Lanka Medical Association Annual Academic Sessions in 1995


Current Research Grants:

Research Team Leader: Development of anti cancer compound libraries – National Science Foundation RPHS Grant

Principal Investigator: Mutations and polymorphisms of mitochondrial genes as risk factors for breast cancer in Sri Lankan patients of Sinhalese ethnicity- National Research Council

Principal Investigator: In vitro and in vivo epigenetic investigations on anti cancer and radio-priming effects of different parts of Mangifera Indica (India) and Mangifera ceylanica (Sri Lanka) and impact of green silver nanocomposites – Ministry of Science, Technology and Research (Indo- Lanka Grant)

Co-investigator: Genetic analysis for predictive markers for hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) in non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) related cirrhosis, National Research Council, PI Dr. A S H Hewage

Previous Research Grants/Fellowships held (US $ 5000/= or more):

Principal Investigator: Possible anti-carcinogenic mechanisms of novel cytotoxic compounds isolated from Campnosperma zeylanica on breast cancer cells: Evaluation of molecular mechanisms and validation of anti-breast cancer pathway/s – National Science Foundation, Rs 3.5 million

Project Leader and one of the Principal Investigators: Drug Leads from Medicinal Plants, Ministry of Higher Education Total pledged Rs. 18.0 million for 5 principal investigators

Principal Investigator: Identification of potential molecular and genetic markers of sporadic breast cancer and BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations in familial ovarian cancer in Sri Lankan patients, and evaluation of selected traditional medicines as potential anti cancer drugs for breast and ovarian cancers using an in vitro model, National Research Council, Rs 12.4 million

Principal Investigator: Characterization of mutations and sequence variants of Growth Hormone (GH) and Growth Hormone Releasing Hormone Receptor (GHRH-R) in a cohort of Sri Lankan children with GH deficiency, National Science Foundation, Rs. 3 million

Principal Investigator: Sequencing of HV I and HV II regions of the Mitochondrial D loop in Sri Lankans – National Research Council, Rs 4.9 million

Co-Grantee for SAREC Grant for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology and Principal Investigator for Reproductive and Developmental Molecular Biology projects under the same Grant-  October 2003 to June 2010 SEK 1,900,000/=

Principal Investigator – A genomic and a proteomic study on low birth weight- National Research Council, Rs 10 million

RecipientNational Science Foundation Research Fellowship, Rs. 1.1 million – 2006

Principal Investigator – A study on insulin like growth factor I, insulin like growth factor II, Insulin like growth factor binding protein 1, and other major placental hormones during normal pregnancy – National Science Foundation, Rs. 1,789,880/= from 2001-2005

Principal Investigator – Expression of the leptin receptor in the endometrium and the role of leptin in endometrial cell function – National Research Council, Rs. 6,655,000/= from 2000-2004

Recipient – Rockefeller Foundation, World Health Organisation Career Development Fellowship in Reproductive Molecular Biology – US $ 40,000/= from 1999 to 2005

Principal Investigator: A study on the duration of lactational amenorrhoea, maternal prolactin, lactational behaviour and lactational performance in lean and obese women

National Science Foundation Rs. 1,400,000; 1995 to 1999

Principal Investigator: Evaluation of the mode of oral hypoglycaemic activity of charantin, a glycoside isolated from Momordica charantia

International Foundation for ScienceUS $ 10,000; 1994 to 1999

Principal Investigator: Effect of a skimmed milk distribution programme on maternal prolactin concentrations and on the duration of lactational amenorrhoea

World Health OrganizationUS $ 40,000; 1989 to 1995


  • 2006
    National Science Foundation Research Fellowship
  • 1999-2005
    Rockefeller Foundation, World Health Organization Career Development Fellowship in Reproductive Molecular Biology
  • 1993
    World Health Organization Research Training Fellowship at World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Immunoassay, Hammersmith Hospital, London
  • 1991
    World Health Organization Fellowship for Participation at the International Workshop on Epidemiological Research in Reproductive Health, Jakarta, Indonesia
  • 1989
    World Health Organization Fellowship at the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, University of Sheffield
  • 1988
    International Atomic Energy Agency Fellowship to participate in the Regional Training Programme in Hospital Radiopharmacy, Australia
  • 1982-1985
    Commonwealth Medical Scholarship for PhD studies at the University of Sheffield, UK